Congratulations to the 24-25 Nominee

TAAO Secretary/ Treasurer

Woman image

Frances DeLeón is currently the Assistant Chief Appraiser for the San Patricio County Appraisal District. She has been serving in that capacity since February of 2023, but she has been with the district for nearly 12 years. In 2012, she joined the San Patricio County Appraisal District as the receptionist for their new office. After a few years, she joined the appraisal team. By 2017, Frances was working as the BPP/COM Appraiser and was later promoted to Senior Appraiser status. Prior to becoming the Assistant Chief Appraiser, Frances was the BPP/COM Manager. Frances holds the Registered Professional Appraiser designation. 

Her journey with TAAO started in 2015 when she joined the Coastal Bend Chapter. She became the chapter’s Treasurer in 2016 and began participating in various committees. In 2019, Frances took on the role of Chapter President where she served 5 consecutive years. She was TAAO’s Ethics Committee Chair in 2018, and a member of the same committee for 2019. She has also served on the Education and Chapter Relations committees. She was the Regional 5 Director for 2022-2023. Frances was our Marillyn Albert Committee Chair for 2023 and is currently the 2024 Conference Committee Chair. 

Prior to joining the property tax profession, Frances spent some time in the banking industry and the auto glass industry. She enjoys giving back to the community through various chapter events and has also volunteered with the South Texas Jazz Festival. Our industry can be seen as a “thankless” occupation, but Frances is passionate about what we do and what it takes to build a strong team. 

Happenings Around Your Local Chapters!

Alamo Chapter
Congratulations to the following chapter members:
Juan Saucedo as the New President and 
Edward Garza as the new Treasurer.

At their Dec. 13, 2023 meeting, Zavala CAD was the lucky Raffle winner of the Children's Gifts that were donated.  Zavala CAD donated those gifts to Family Services a local nonprofit serving families in rural communities. 

Way to go Zavala CAD!

Capital Chapter
Leslie Muller administered the Oath of Office to the incoming board; Laura Raven-President, Faun Cullens-Vice President, Ellen Owens-Secretary, Cathy Atkinson-Treasurer,

Sharlynn Green & Aimee Spradling as Trustees at their Dec. 5th, 2023 meeting.  Congratulations to all!

Capital Chapter selected the recipient of their 2024 Donation for a Cause.  That recipient is Forever 15 Project. This non-profit organization was created by the parents of Noah Adam Rodriguez who lost his life to Fentanyl. This project brings awareness and provides resources for those at risk. 

Great organization, Great way to share in the fight against the Fentanyl epidemic. 

Red River Chapter
The chapter held its first quarter meeting on April 5, 2024.  Topics presented were Exemptions, focusing on deferrals, Mineral Accounts-how soon to file suits, Installment Agreements-when to turn over for collections and Circuit Breaker-what that means for your county. 

Thank you to Perdue Brandon Fielder Collins and Mott LLP for presenting on these topics. 

Far West Chapter
The chapter held their Installation of Officers banquet on Feb. 16, 2024.  A Farewell was held for their outgoing President, Ernie Torres. Our very own President, Melissa Fernandez, administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected board.  Congratulations to Ruben P. Gonzalez-President, Angela Brinkley-Vice President, Ezmerelda Gutierrez-Secretary,  Olya Garcia-Treasurer, Imelda Osborn and Miriam Navarro as Trustees.  
Looking forward to seeing you all taking on President Melissa's challenge, to get involved at the state level.

Rio Grande Valley Chapter
Held their 56th Annual Tip-of-Texas in South Padre, Texas, on Feb 2-3, 2024.  There were plenty of Door Prizes, great speakers and time to network with Exhibitors and friends.  Next year's plans have already started.  This is an excellent two day event to get those much needed CEs.  This is a great city to visit!  If you have never been, start planning to attend next year's Tip of Texas.  We will be sharing the information as it becomes available.  Stay tuned!
Always an Awesome job, always a great time!

North East Texas Chapter
A joint meeting with TAAD Chapter was held on Nov. 30, 2023 at Don Juan Restaurant in Jefferson, Texas.  Big Thank You to Jim Lambeth, Linebarger, Goggan, Blair & Sampson Law Firm, for presenting on Case Law, Circuit Breaker exemptions on Non-Homestead properties and other exemptions.  
Excellent Job!

Gulf Coast Chapter

January 2024: The GCC Board held a meeting at Maggiano’s in Houston where we had our 2024 Officer Installation.  Congratulations to their newly elected board:  Elizabeth (Liz) Ruiz-President, Erika Nettles-Vice President, Denise Shurbert-Treasurer, Kimberly Spada-Secretary, David Patterson and Tracey Lensey as Trustees. 

 The chapter Spring seminar took place at Spring ISD April 16th. Topics included a detailed discussion of Truth in Taxation, Customer Service, Safety in the workplace and appraisal district data-clean up and ethics.  Bringing members together to share their ideas and get those CEs. 


 Permian Basin Chapter
Their 1st quarter meeting was held March 21st, 2024 in Crane, Texas. Steven Campbell, TY Pickett, gave a presentation on the Oil and Gas Industry, Gas appraisals and Circuit Breakers for Oil & Gas Properties. 
Another Excellent venue for making sure Property Tax Professionals are getting the education they need!